My Tech Journey: Obstacles in my Way

I consider myself luckier than most people because I got initiated into the tech world at a young age thanks to my tech-enthusiastic dad. However, my journey has not been without its challenges, and I will give just a few examples.

Challenge #1: Difficulty Specializing

If you have dabbled in Computer Science and the like, then you will know just how immense the tech world is. There is hardware, networks, databases, cyber security, artificial intelligence, and many other fields, and each of these have their own specializations. I am interested in more than one field, and trying to be a jack-of-all-trades has backfired on me terribly to the point of making me lose interest.

How I'm handling it

I have made peace with the fact that I cannot learn many things at the same time so I have chosen to focus on Machine Learning with Python for now, rather than trying to be a web developer, cybersecurity enthusiast, AI expert, and database administrator while being proficient in Java, C++, Python, R, JavaScript, Django, and Ruby all at once (yes, I actually tried all that in one go). Once I feel I have comfortably mastered it, I will move on to the next field. Allowing myself to focus on one tool and one niche has helped me to stay focused and actually cover significant ground in terms of skills and experience while ensuring I don't lose interest.

Challenge #2: Lack of role models

While my dad is the reason I got into tech, he is not directly working in any tech-related field. Which meant that, if I wanted to thrive in the tech field, I had to look for role models elsewhere. I have a hearing disability, which comes with its own set of challenges. Growing up, I honestly believed that since there weren't any deaf doctors, programmers, presidents, etc., those positions were off limits to deaf people. As a result, I did not develop a strong dream or passion I wanted to pursue, just a nice fantasy of "What if I was to be a programmer?"

How I'm handling it

These days, more and more deaf people are joining tech, and some have become experts in their respective fields, which really encourages and motivates me. I have also come to accept that I don't need a role model to succeed, I just have to strive to be better than I was the previous year. I measure my progress by the milestones I set for myself, such as "create a Python project that does XYZ" or "understand and successfully implement the ABC algorithm in a machine learning task".

Challenge #3: Lack of access to materials / lack of accessibility support

Many are the times that I have gone hunting for online resources only to be met with sites requiring me to subscribe in order to access the contents. This is challenging because I cannot afford the subscription, but I really need the content. Sometimes I don't even find what I'm looking for or I find limited resources that do not provide adequate explanations. Then there are the times I find the resources I am looking for, but they are not deaf-friendly such as podcasts and videos without captions or transcriptions.

How I'm handling it

For the premium sites that require me to subscribe by paying for their content, I either make use of their free trials or go looking for other free alternatives. As for the lack of subtitles or transcription, I am currently looking for third-party transcribing software that could help me out. However, if the video is the only one I can find and I need to understand its contents urgently, I either ask my friend or my sister to give me the breakdown when they are free, or I use Google Meets on my phone to automatically generate the subtitles. It is not fun, but it is better than nothing

Challenge #4: Lack of motivation & moments of self doubt

So many times I have felt unmotivated and unwilling to continue with my tech tasks and projects. I have also had moments where I have questioned whether I am really on the right track, and I have been tempted to switch to other fields that I like and consider "easier" such as psychology and literature. Additionally, I constantly wrestle with low self confidence, especially when I keep receiving rejection emails to jobs or internships I have applied for.

How I'm handling it

When it comes to lack of motivation, I investigate why I feel unmotivated. If I feel the task is too big or complex for me to do, I break it down into smaller sub-tasks. If it is a case of me feeling tired, I make myself attempt my work for 5 minutes, even if it is just to brainstorm. If I find the energy and motivation to continue with the work, great. If not, I allow myself to take a break and try again later. As for self doubt, I reassure myself that if the me in high school or first year could see me, she would be mind-blown by how experienced I seem even if I don't believe it is the case. I also remind myself that other fields may seem easy but they all have their own challenges and difficulties. And, lastly, I look at the bright side of things; for example, if I get turned down for a position I had applied, I tell myself "God is giving you more time to really get your act together so that you will wow your future employer." So I keep going and keep trying.

Conclusion

It sucks when we run into obstacles and challenges in our pursuit for whatever it is we are pursuing. That is just the way life is designed because nothing and nobody is perfect. Instead of fighting against or running from them, we should learn to accept them as they come because challenges show you where you currently are and how much further you can go. As someone famously said, "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger."